It’s sort of been lost in all the hubbub lately, upstaged by gang-related beatings (do they have witness protection programs in Japan?) and me being shown the door by Japanese Immigration, but a few weeks ago I started a photoblog. It’s sort of a brother blog to this one, like succotash – the lima beans to Ultraman’s corn – except that it’s all photos, with none of the annoying yammering that goes on here. It’s called The Daily Edamame – you may remember the name from the title of an M&A category I introduced with fanfare and subsequently ignored.

The pitch: one photo per day, a brief caption, and nothing else. Like edamame, it’s briefly distracting, tasty but not too filling, and it lets you feel like you’re partaking of something that’s good for you without, of course, being good for you. Unlike succotash, which really is good for you (I’m mixing vegetable dishes on top of metaphors; maybe I’d better bring Hemingway instead of Bukowski to Vietnam). So go ahead, subscribe. One more RSS feed won’t bring your browser crashing down in a smoking pile around your feet. Unless you’re using Internet Explorer.

While I’m on the subject, I’m not sure what’s going to happen to Man and Ultraman for the next few weeks. Best case scenario: It will seamlessly morph from a staid-life-in-Japan blog to a fresh new life-on-the-trail blog. It will fairly crackle with new characters, overflow with tales and adventures from the underbelly of Asia, and groan with the weight of all the new photographs. Revivified by the salt air and the thrill of the road, it will glitter like the sea at night and shine like the eyes of young lovers.

Worst case scenario: Well, we all know what that is.

The crystal ball is hazy because I don’t know if I’ll be taking my laptop with me. I’d like to, but in a stroke of bad luck that I refused at the time to take as a karmic comment on my decision to move to to Japan, it took a body blow during the flight from San Francisco to Tokyo, destroying the monitor entirely. Since the day I arrived, I’ve had to use it with an external monitor. Which has worked fine. Except that now when I most need a mobile computer, mine’s not remotely mobile.

Most of Southeast Asia, I’m told, is more wired than than a roomful of West Hollywood talent agents, and internet cafes are as common as noodle joints. So keeping connected won’t be too much of a chore, but I may have to do most of my writing old school-style, with pencil and paper – which is a lot more conducive to short and to the point than it is to rambling, stream-of-consciousness monlogues. And I have no idea what I’ll do about saving photos without a computer to download them to. The last time I tried that, I lost everything. Of course, the last time I tried anything like this was 1991. Hopefully I’ve learned something since then.

